Celeb Fashion – Hits & Misses

I’ve succumbed to my first cold of the winter today, and am feeling very bunged up and generally under the weather.  Yet another reason to loathe this dark and dreary time of year.  At least the busy part of my week this week was the first half, and I don’t have loads to do today, which is good.

Anyway, enough of my moaning and let’s look at some fashion.

This week’s Frocky Horror was the Duchess of Cambridge’s green dress …

article-2239406-163D75C7000005DC-847_634x1080

What on EARTH was she thinking?  The only positive thing I can say about this dress by British fashion brand Mulberry is that the colour is lovely.  But the cheap looking fabric, the pleats, the weird length and just the whole, overall style of the thing is revolting, I think.  Sorry, Kate.  On a more cheery note, I was delighted to see that the Duchess has been released from hospital today.  I was lucky enough never to suffer from morning sickness, but it sounds as if hers has been horrific.  Do hope she gets over it soon.

Last night saw the premiere of the movie version of Les Miserables (I am so excited to see this film, I just loved the stage show and all the music).  Ann Hathaway looked absolutely stunning, I thought, in this Givenchy couture dress …

article-0-165D9ACF000005DC-994_634x994So unusual and elegant, and I love Anne’s new shorter hairdo, too.

But, I was kind of let down when I saw the photo of the back of the dress …

article-2243566-165DA4FB000005DC-98_306x644For me, the backless look just doesn’t match the elegance and classic lines of the front – had I designed it, I would have made the back a mirror image of the front, but maybe with less detailing on the sleeves.

Maybe I’m too picky, though.  What do you think?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Celeb Fashion – Hits & Misses

  1. Yes KMiddy (as I have seen her referred to) looks frumpy in this fright. It looks like a style Diana would have worn 30 years ago. Ann looks lovely from the front but not sure about those embellies all over the dress. Lovely barnet tho.

  2. Sorry you are sick – the weather there sounds like it has been terrible.
    I wondered if Kate was wearing the green to look like Di way back when in a similar coy green dress…. she looked far better in her ‘leaving hospital’ today look.
    I wasn’t keen on Anne’s dress I am afraid but I do like her hair. Did you see Ellie Gouldiing’s get up at the same event?

  3. Am the opposite – Kate’s dress is rather lovely but that second one is a shocker – all those bobbles must feel very uncomfy when you sit down! Especially as she lacks some decent rear end padding 😉

Leave a Reply

