Winter Warmer

 

It’s cold out.  The freeze warning alarm has just gone off in the car for the first time this winter (it goes off automatically when the temp gets down to 4 degrees C) – nearly made me jump out of my skin.  Definitely winter food time – soups and stews and all those yummy, stodgy winter things.

I had a bit of a domestic goddess evening yesterday – not only did I make homemade soup for dinner, I also made homemade bread to go with it (first time I’ve ever made bread without a machine), and homemade cookies, which were a disaster, but hey, two out of three ain’t bad!

The cheese and ham bread was cupboard-to-table in less than an hour (no yeast), and although it worked well and looked like the picture in the book, it was a bit on the heavy side for my liking, so I don’t think I’d rush to make it again.

The soup on the other hand, was absolutely lovely, so I thought I’d share the recipe.

Butternut Squash, Ginger and Chilli Soup (serves 3 with a portion leftover for lunch the next day)

1 onion, chopped

1/2 a large butternut squash, chopped into cubes

1 clove garlic, crushed

1 red chilli, chopped

1 tsp powdered ginger

Hot veg stock

1/2 carton coconut cream

Olive oil and a bit of butter for frying

1.  Fry onion and squash in olive oil and melted butter for 5 mins.

2.   Add garlic, chilli and ginger powder, stir and fry for further 5 mins.

3.   Add veg stock (sorry, don’t know how much, I just used enough to cover the veg and a bit more), bring to boil, cover and simmer for 15 mins or so.

4.   Blend until smooth, season to taste, reheat and add coconut cream (you could also use coconut milk or one of those sachet things of creamed coconut if you prefer).

 

7 thoughts on “Winter Warmer

  1. Love spicy pumpkin soup. Fry onion celery pumpkin in olive oil and madras curry powder for five mins to sweat then litre chicken stock when cooked liquidise . Delicious and healthy.

Leave a Reply

