Reading & Watching

Our local library has recently undergone a 12 month multi-million pound makeover, and reopened last Monday.  Coincidentally, I’d reserved a book which needed to be picked up that day so I popped in to have a look round.  It iss all very high-tech, a cafe had been added, and there were more public computer terminals than previously, but to be honest, I didn’t really think it needed improving much – I liked it how it was.  Thankfully, the modernisation has only taken place internally, it would be a shame to have spoilt such a lovely old building, wouldn’t it?

Anyway, the book I picked up on Monday and am currently reading is this:

Diane Chamberlain is one of my favourite authors currently, and I am working my way through her entire back catalogue.  Her books are often based around a moral or ethical dilemma, and this one tells the story of a woman who has an affair with her best friend’s husband after her best friend has an aneurysm and suffers permanent brain damage.  I’m really enjoying it, finding it quite unputdownable.  Which means the housework’ll suffer again this week!  Hey ho.

Viewing-wise, I’ve just caught up with the final two episodes of the second series of the fab BBC legal drama, Silk.  I really enjoyed the first series last year, and the second has been even better.  I do hope they make another series – I want to know what happens to Billy, whose story ended on something of a cliffhanger!

Have you read or watched anything good lately?

 

5 thoughts on “Reading & Watching

  1. Can´t seem to get in to anything at the moment. Keep picking books up and putting them down. I did enjoy a paperback by Linda Costello (think that´s right). I have passed the book on so can´t remember. A detective/murder novel centred around an Amish Police Officer. Very enjoyable considering it is not my genre. I have mixed feelings about Diane Chamberlain. Started The Good Father but just couldn´t get in to it. What I need is a good meaty saga like Sarum or Pillars of the Earth, something to get my teeth in to.

    All my favourite series have now ended so am trying to get in to something fresh. Watched the first part of the jewish documentary Something Kosher with mixed feelings. But I did enjoy Line of Duty, and Veep may have legs.

  2. I finally watched Birdsong which I had taped from Feb this year. Hard to get this fab book into a two parter TV programme, but Eddie Redmayne was very watchable.
    The new book club book this month is the the Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, not started it yet.
    Lisa x

  3. I am watching the last series of Desperate Housewives. I recorded them all, but haven’t had the chance to watch any of them until now. It’s the very last series, and I’ve enjoyed them all. It’s all very silly and far-fetched really, but entertaining.

Leave a Reply

