September Movies

1.  The Inbetweeners

Loved it!  Laugh out loud funny (yes, I was the madwoman in cinema, sitting alone and giggling to herself all the way through).  One of my favourite movies of the year so far.

2.   Conviction

Based on a true story about a woman who became a lawyer to try and get her brother freed from prison for a murder he didn’t commit, I found myself engrossed in this film.  Great performances by the whole cast, but particularly Hilary Swank and Minnie Driver.  Well worth a watch.

3.   The Disappearance of Alice Creed

With plenty of bad language, some fairly graphic violence and only three actors throughout, this film won’t appeal to all, and indeed I wasn’t sure what I was going to make of it.  However, I was immediately sucked into the plot, and this twisty turny British thriller kept me gripped all the way through.  Gemma Arterton, who I didn’t rate previously, was surprisingly good.

4.   I Don’t Know How She Does It

The last ‘brilliant British book turned into an American movie’  I saw (Shopaholic) might well have put me off this genre for life, it was so dreadful, but I’m so glad I went to see this, as despite not really liking SJP, I thought the movie was great.  So good, I’ll probably see it again when it comes out on DVD!

5.   Fragments

Despite having an ‘all star cast’ (Forest Whitaker, Jennifer Hudson, Kate Beckinsale, Guy Pearce, Dakota Fanning), this movie was my least favourite this month.  It purports to tell the story of the aftermath of a random act of violence, and to illustrate that life is fragile and fleeting, but I just found it tedious, I’m afraid.

6.   One Day

I only read the book a few months ago, and unlike most people I know, who rave about it, I thought it only OK.  But I really liked the film.  There were minor annoyances as there always are in book-to-film adaptations (why did they go on holiday to France in the film, when they went to Greece in the book?  Where was the headmaster character who was actually quite pivotal to the plot?), but these didn’t detract from the fact that it was a jolly good watch, and I enjoyed it immensely.

Looking forward to another book adaptation coming out soon – The Help.  The trailers look good.

Have you seen any good movies lately?

 

5 thoughts on “September Movies

  1. I STILL want ot see The Help which has nearly finished it’s run here. I need to take daughter with me as she read the book in a day. Wish I could read that fast!!
    I really liked Conviction too although it sort of flopped over here.
    Don’t think we’ll get Inbetweeners movie here but have heard good things about it.
    So glad you liked ‘I don’t know how she does it.’
    Look out for ‘Crazy, Stupid love’ and then also ‘Sarah’s Key.’ And ‘Dolphin’s Tale’ is aimed at kids but v good too!

  2. I loved the book I Don’t Know How She Does It. I tmade me laugh put loud and I bought copies for 2 friends as presents. The Help was a fab book too.
    Lisa x

  3. Oh no! Now you’ve thrown a spanner in the works! I was not going to go and see One Day because I thought the film would be a let down but since reading your post I’m tempted!

Leave a Reply

